Got Beans? My Guide to Including Legumes on a Low FODMAP Diet

Hi there my lovelies not feeling myself today it turns out I have another infection the third one this year which is a bummer for the Bronchiectasis…

As Bronchiectasis is a progressive lung disease. For people living with this condition it has a similarity to cystic Fibrosis.

However with Bronchiectasis mucus continues to build up, more than the average lungs. This can build up to cause infection. This permanently damages the lungs.

The simple solution would be to take antibiotics and things should be fine right?! But as mentioned earlier the infection permanently damages the airways. This makes breathing more difficult.

The RH woke me with the usual heart racing drenched in sweat and mild shaking along with laboured breathing partly because I can feel my lungs are clogged and need clearing. Despite drinking plenty of water it only helps so far.

However, drinking water helps to loosen (break up) the mucus, thus ensuring it is easier to clean the lungs. ā¤ļø

Of course, coughing triggers the Costochondritis pain. So it’s a vicious circle šŸ˜¶

Once again, widening the bronchi so the fluid further filling up the lungs making it harder to breathe. risking more frequent infections permanently damaging the lungs. ā¤ļø

Nevertheless, I’m a tenacious and gregarious gal and likes to take charge of her health. ā¤ļø

So while reading about the types of legumes I haven’t tried and wondered if they were high in fodmaps.

Furthermore, I came across this interesting article by a Registered Dietitian called Antonella Dewell. She’s added a couple of recipes one for a tasty vegan quesadillas meal for lunch or a main meal. ā¤ļø

For me, gluten is a big catalyst for an RH attack. For me, I get this odd cold almost and psychological feeling of dread and if I’m asleep I always awakened either got and clammy or feeling cold and clammy.

I’ve read from diabetes.co.uk that it is common to have RH attacks when your blood levels are in normal ranges.

In some cases this is true for me. But at other times my glucose levels reflect the symptoms I’m experiencing.

Usually, when I’m unwell with an infection the blood glucose levels decline for me RH generally becomes erratic.

Anyhow, I would like to try that recipe… It’s well written and looking forward to seeing more of her writings. Enjoy… Xx

https://www.antonelladewell.com/blog-low-fodmap-insider/got-beans-my-guide-to-including-legumes-on-a-low-fodmap-diet

Leave a comment